YER A WIZARD, HARRY

My step-daughter turned 11 on July 6th.  Last year after her 10th birthday (the one that was TEN-T related… yeah, I know) I told her that we were TOTALLY having a Harry Potter party since at 11, Harry got his Hogwarts letter.

Let the record show that I have read the books at least twice if not three times; and I have seen the movies a hundred times.  I am a PotterHead.  Plain and Simple.  Also, I go overboard on the things I love.  I call it PASSION… everyone else around me calls it, “I NEED YOU TO REIN IT IN, WOMAN”.  In the early part of June when it finally came time to start planning and building and growing and working on Kiddo’s birthday, I became VERY PASSIONATE.  It started with potions bottles.  I collected bottles of varying sizes and used spray paint and sand paper to distress them.  I had some tin cans and did the same to them too.  I found Harry Potter Potion printables and printed them on our black and white printer.  Well THAT wasn’t going to work.  I spent several hours researching color printers and chose the one I wanted on Amazon.  Prime, bitches… Momma was gonna have it in 2 days!   Posted about how overboa… passionate I was about the printing on Facebook and my dear friend Shelley remarked, “I HAVE a brand new in box printer that can be yours for the low low price of margaritas and nachos”.   SOLD!   We met and ate and drank and I brought my bouncing baby printer home.  Then I cancelled my Amazon order.  I didn’t need 2!

Once I got that sucker working, I was a printing fool. I made potions labels, Honeydukes and Leaky Cauldron signs, Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes logo, printed Harry’s envelopes with the exact lettering from the ones that flew out of the fireplace, and candy labels… OH LORD the candy labels.  I researched all of them.  I had arts and crafts projects for days!!!!

I have glued, mod-podged, painted, hammered, taped, strung, and burned my credit card to dust, but BYGOD that kid was going to have the BEST DAMN HARRY POTTER PARTY EVER IN THE HISTORY OF EVER (on a budget).  I have lost sleep because of planning and plotting and inventorying in my head at night.  We were thankful and excited that our wonderful family friends would host us, not only because everyone lives freaking NORTH of us, but also because they have a pool!

My darling Husband, Austin, helped where he could, but because he hadn’t read the books and didn’t have the expansive knowle… PASSION for the Dark Arts and Crafts, I relied on the second reason I married him.  He Lifts Heavy Things.  This morning, bright and early, he packed our car to the gills and away we went.  We had a lot of families for help of setup and execution.  Our kiddo was pleasantly pleased and surprised.  HERE are the fruits of all of our labors: Platform 9 3/4Happy Birthday Riley

Nimbus 2000"Booger" mints Potions bottles HoneyDukes TonTongueToffee What a spread Flying Keys Mandrakes Weasley's Wizard Wheezes Weasley's Wizard Wheezes Weasley's Wizard Wheezes Weasley's Wizard Wheezes Mirror of Erised Eyelop's Owlery Flying Hogwarts Letters

Mandrake PepperUp Potion Nimbus 2000 Broomstick Pool Noodle Daily Prophet Daily Prophet

Daily ProphetDaily Prophet
Draught of Living Death
Kiddo
BFFs
Gilly Water
HAPPEE BIRTHDAE RILEY
I like cake Make a wish!Birthday Girl gets the first piece

Welcome

HUGE thank you to the Bencivengas for hosting!  We couldn’t have done it without you!

Also thank you to everyone who came out.  I know some of you drove from far away to help this kid have a WONDERFUL, MEMORABLE, and MAGICAL birthday!

Finally… THANK YOU to J.K. Rowling.  Without your imagination, these muggles lives would be so boring.

Leave a Reply

